Leni Alexander (1924–2005)

Leni Alexander © Archiv Frau und Musik
Leni Alexander © Archiv Frau und Musik

Leni Alexander was a committed artist throughout her life: her work was marked by experiences of repression, political action, and an irrepressible interest in her fellow human beings. Life and art were inseparable for her. The musical genre for which she became famous therefore seems almost symptomatic: Radio theatre. Her autobiographical radio plays allow Leni Alexander’s life to be told also through her works.

Life Is Shorter Than A Winter’s Day or Par quoi? À quoi? Pour quoi? (WDR 1989)

“Discha, Discha…”: the radio play begins with these calls. It is based on the experiences of Leni Alexander, who was called Discha by her stepfather – a Jewish girl suffering the horrors of fascism. Between the descriptions of her school days, Alexander mixes arrangements of her own music, Yiddish songs, but also Chilean protest songs. The latter was because the events in Chile thirty-five years later awakened memories in her of her flight from Germany.

Alexander was nine years old when the National Socialists came to power in Germany in 1933. Together with her mother, the singer Ilse Pollack, and her stepfather Siegfried Urias, she experienced the repression against Jewish citizens in Hamburg. However, it was not until the pogrom night in 1939 that the family was forced to flee. In her exile in Chile, Leni Alexander soon received music lessons again, and later studied psychology at Montessori education. In 1949 she also began studying composition with the Dutch composer Fré Focke. Through him, Alexander got to know new musical worlds:

“I felt that doors were opening whose existence had been unknown to me until then. Behind these doors I was able to discover a music, a way of thinking about and listening to music that was a revelation to me from that moment on.”

In 1954, Alexander received a scholarship from the French state, and was able to establish close contacts in Europe with composers such as René Leibowitz, Olivier Messiaen, Bruno Maderna, and Luigi Nono. As formative as her work with the European avant-gardes was, she was at odds with their sometimes elitist understanding of art, in which – according to Alexander – technique took precedence over musical creativity. Perhaps it was due to her rejection of politically rigid systems that she also avoided any dogmatism in music, but also as well as clear hierarchies. Most of her compositions are atonal, and assign a high degree of co-responsibility and freedom of choice to the performers.

On her first visit to Cologne in 1960, Alexander’s only choral work, her cantata From Death to Morning, was premiered. She had composed the work for the World Music Festival of the International Society for New Music.

At the end of the 1960s, Alexander initially went back to Chile. A period of constant moves between Chile, Europe, and the USA followed until 1969, when Leni Alexander moved back to Paris with her youngest son due to a Guggenheim scholarship. Her second stay became a renewed exile in 1973 because of the military coup in Chile. She then deepened her political commitment, working for Amnesty International and various Chilean solidarity organisations.

Chacabuco, the Story of a Ghost Town in Chile (WDR 1993)

Here Alexander denounces Pinochet’s crimes, as well as the involvement of European governments in Chilean politics. The ghost town of Chacapuco served as a prison camp after the military coup, where miners were exploited in the saltpetre mines there – mines from which European companies particularly profited. Alexander mixes popular music from northern Chile, verses by Pablo Neruda, and Goethe’s Faust, with recordings of the composer’s conversations with a miner and a former prisoner of the prison camp.

Leni Alexander financed her living in Paris through numerous scholarships, composition commissions – for example from Radio France – and music lessons for children. She also continued to be active in South America: on an Argentinean concert tour, she met the Frankfurt Ensemble Modern. This encounter led to a collaboration at the Cologne Festival Experimentierfeld: Frauen-Musik zur Aufführung (Field of Experimentation: Women’s Music for Performance) in 1984. At the end of the 1980s, the composer went back to Chile. However, until shortly before her death, she spent several months each year in Paris and Cologne, composing and developing radio pieces mainly for the WDR. Leni Alexander died in Chile on 7 August 7 2005 at the age of 83. In 2013, her heirs donated a large part of her estate to the Archiv Frau und Musik in Frankfurt.

The Story of the Chariot. Reflections and Thoughts During a Journey in the MERKABAH Wagon Concerning Primordial Beings (text manuscript 2001).

In her unfinished audio piece, Alexander once again calls for “not forgetting”. The chariot Merkahba – in Jewish mysticism the throne chariot of Ezekiel – flies through the landscape towards “the history of creation”. At the end of the text is the admonition: “The memory of all that is past must not be lost, just as human history belongs to us forever, it gives us life, in which there is no room for forgetting.”

More information on Leni Alexander can be found at:

A personal essay on Leni Alexander has been published in the Digital German Women’s Archive as part of the project #WoraufWartenWir? (What Are We Waiting For?).

Leni Alexander (1924–2005)

Leni Alexander © Archiv Frau und Musik
Leni Alexander © Archiv Frau und Musik

Leni Alexander war Zeit ihres Lebens eine engagierte Künstlerin: Ihr Schaffen war geprägt von Repressionserfahrungen, politischem Handeln und einem unbändigen Interesse an ihren Mitmenschen. Leben und Kunst waren für sie untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Fast symptomatisch scheint deshalb das musikalische Genre, für das sie berühmt wurde: Das Radiotheater. Ihre autobiografischen Hörstücke erlauben es, Leni Alexanders Leben auch anhand ihrer Werke zu erzählen.

Das Leben ist kürzer als ein Wintertag oder Par quoi? A quoi? Pour quoi? (WDR 1989)

„Discha, Discha…“: Mit diesen Rufen beginnt das Hörstück. Es basiert auf den Erfahrungen von Leni Alexander, die von ihrem Stiefvater Discha genannt wurde, – einem jüdischen Mädchen, das unter den Schrecken des Faschismus leidet. Zwischen die Schilderungen der Schulzeit mischt Alexander Bearbeitungen eigener Musik, jiddischer Lieder, aber auch chilenischer Protestlieder. Denn die Ereignisse in Chile fünfunddreißig Jahre später weckten in ihr Erinnerungen an die Flucht aus Deutschland.

Als die Nationalsozialisten 1933 in Deutschland an die Macht kamen, war Alexander neun Jahre alt. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter, der Sängerin Ilse Pollack, und dem Stiefvater Siegfried Urias erlebte sie in Hamburg die Repressionen gegen jüdische Bürger*innen, aber erst die Pogromnacht 1939 konnte die Familie zur Flucht zwingen. In ihrem Exil Chile erhielt Leni Alexander bald wieder Musikunterricht, später studierte sie Psychologie und Montessori-Pädagogik. 1949 begann sie zusätzlich ein Kompositionsstudium bei dem holländischen Komponisten Fré Focke. Durch ihn lernte Alexander neue musikalische Welten kennen:

„Ich spürte, dass sich Türen öffneten, deren Existenz mir bis dahin unbekannt war. Hinter diesen Türen konnte ich eine Musik entdecken, eine Art und Weise, über Musik nachzudenken und sie zu hören, die von diesem Moment an eine Offenbarung für mich war.“

Leni Alexanders Cantata "de la muerte a la mañana" © Archiv Frau und Musik
Leni Alexanders Cantata “De la muerte a la mañana” © Archiv Frau und Musik

1954 erhielt Alexander ein Stipendium des französischen Staates und konnte in Europa enge Kontakte zu Komponisten wie René Leibowitz, Olivier Messiaen, Bruno Maderna und Luigi Nono knüpfen. So prägend die Arbeit mit der europäischen Avantgarde war, so sehr fremdelte sie mit deren teilweise elitärem Kunstverständnis, bei dem – laut Alexander – die Technik über der musikalischen Kreativität stand. Vielleicht lag es an ihrer Ablehnung politisch rigider Systeme, dass sie auch in der Musik jeglichen Dogmatismus, aber auch klare Hierarchien, vermied. So sind die meisten ihrer Kompositionen atonal und weisen den Interpret*innen einen hohen Grad an Mitverantwortung und Entscheidungsfreiheit zu.

Bei ihrem ersten Besuch in Köln im Jahr 1960 wurde Alexanders einziges Chorwerk, ihre Kantate From Death to Morning, uraufgeführt. Das Werk hatte sie für das Weltmusikfest der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Neue Musik komponiert.

Ende der 1960er Jahre ging Alexander zunächst zurück nach Chile. Eine Zeit der ständigen Ortswechsel zwischen Chile, Europa und den USA folgte, bis 1969 Leni Alexander mit ihrem jüngsten Sohn dank eines Guggenheim-Stipendiums wieder nach Paris zog. Ihr zweiter Aufenthalt wurde 1973 mit dem Militärputsch in Chile zu einer erneuten Exilsituation. Daraufhin vertiefte sie ihr politisches Engagement, arbeitete für Amnesty International und verschiedene chilenische Solidaritätsorganisationen.

Chacabuco, die Geschichte einer Geisterstadt in Chile (WDR 1993)

Leni Alexanders Cantata "de la muerte a la mañana" © Archiv Frau und Musik
Leni Alexanders Cantata “De la muerte a la mañana” © Archiv Frau und Musik

Hier prangert Alexander die Verbrechen Pinochets ebenso wie die Verstrickungen europäischer Regierungen mit der Politik Chiles an: Die Geisterstadt Chacapuco diente nach dem Militärputsch als Gefangenenlager, während zuvor in den dortigen Salpeterminen die Bergarbeiter ausgebeutet wurden – wovon vor allem europäische Firmen profitierten. Alexander mischt populäre Musik aus dem Norden Chiles, Verse von Pablo Neruda und Goethes Faust mit Aufnahmen von Gesprächen der Komponistin mit einem Bergarbeiter und einem ehemaligen Häftling des Gefangenenlagers.

Durch zahlreiche Stipendien, Kompositionsaufträge – etwa von Radio France – und Musikunterricht für Kinder finanzierte Leni Alexander ihren Lebensunterhalt in Paris. Auch in Südamerika war sie weiterhin aktiv: Auf einer argentinischen Konzerttournee lernte sie das Frankfurter Ensemble Modern kennen. Diese Begegnung mündete 1984 in eine Zusammenarbeit bei dem Kölner Festival Experimentierfeld: Frauen-Musik zur Aufführung. Ende der 1980er Jahre ging die Komponistin wieder zurück nach Chile, verbrachte aber bis kurz vor ihrem Tod jedes Jahr einige Monate in Paris und Köln, wo sie vor allem für den WDR komponierte und Hörstücke entwickelte. Leni Alexander starb am 7. August 2005 im Alter von 83 Jahren in Chile. 2013 übergaben die Erb*innen einen Großteil ihres Nachlasses an das Archiv Frau und Musik in Frankfurt.

Die Geschichte des Wagens. Überlegungen und Gedanken während einer Fahrt im Wagen MERKABAH, der das Ursein betrifft (Textmanuskript 2001)

In ihrem unvollendeten Hörstück fordert Alexander noch einmal das „Nicht-Vergessen“ ein. Der Wagen Merkahba – in der jüdischen Mystik der Thronwagen Ezechiels – fliegt durch die Landschaft „der Geschichte der Schöpfung“ entgegen. Am Ende des Textes steht die Mahnung: „Die Erinnerung an alles Vergangene darf nicht verloren gehen, so wie die Geschichte des Menschen uns für immer angehört, sie uns das Leben gibt, in dem für das Vergessen kein Raum ist.“

Mehr Informationen zu Leni Alexander finden Sie unter

Audio