Concert Programme Planning | 31 October 2020

From 29 October to 1 November 2020, the Archiv Frau und Musik hosted an online conference on choral music by women composers. The contents from 31 October 2020 are available on this page.

Anyone who has ever planned a choral concert, and stay away from the all-too-familiar repertoire, knows the challenge: What works exist in the first place? Do the pieces suit my choir? How do I get ahold of sheet music? There are numerous databases, catalogues and other helpful research options for precisely such questions, which choir director and board member of the Archiv Frau und Music Mary Ellen Kitchens presents in an online tutorial (available at the bottom of the page).

Further answers to these questions were also given by our roundtable discussion with exciting guests on diversity-conscious programming for choirs, hosted by Dr. des. Marleen Hoffmann (editorial office Chorzeit magazine) and taking place within the framework of the digital choir days. Invited were:

Lili Sommerfeld (singer and songwriter), Hayat Chaoui (Landesmusikakademie NRW), Bettina Strübel (Director Interreligious Choir Frankfurt), Mary-Ellen Kitchens (AFM, Munich International Choral Society) and Mareike Hilbrig (Frauen-Kammerchor Marburg, Wohin? Ensemble).

31 October 2020, 3 pm:
How do I find choral works by women composers? Mary Ellen Kitchens presents a surprising number of sources and inspirations – 34:00: Interview with Dr. Angelika Horstmann (Furore publishing house)

31 October 2020, 4pm:
Discussion round Diversity-conscious programme planning for choirs. Moderated by Marleen Hoffmann (editor Chorzeit magazine)

The Archiv Frau und Musik would like to thank the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, as well as the Digital German Women’s Archive and its media partner Chorzeit: The Vocal Magazine for sponsoring this event.

Konzertprogrammplanung | 31. Oktober 2020

Vom 29. Oktober bis zum 1. November 2020 veranstaltete das Archiv Frau und Musik eine Online-Tagung zu Chormusik von Komponistinnen. Die Inhalte vom 31. Oktober 2020 sind auf dieser Seite abrufbar.

Wer schon einmal ein Chorkonzert abseits des allzu bekannten Repertoires geplant hat, kennt die Herausforderungen: Welche Werke gibt es überhaupt? Passen die Stücke zu meinem Chor? Wie komme ich an Noten? Genau für solche Fragen gibt es zahlreiche Datenbanken, Kataloge und weitere hilfreiche Recherchemöglichkeiten, die Ihnen die Chorleiterin und Vorstandsfrau des Archivs Frau und Musik Mary Ellen Kitchens in einem Online-Tutorial (unten auf der Seite abrufbar) vorstellt.

Weitere Antworten zu diesen Fragen bat auch unsere Gesprächsrunde mit spannenden Gästen zur Diversitätsbewussten Programmplanung für Chöre, die von Dr. des. Marleen Hoffmann (Redaktion Chorzeit) moderiert wurde und im Rahmen der digitalen Chortage stattfand. Eingeladen waren:

Lili Sommerfeld (Sängerin und Songwriterin), Hayat Chaoui (Landesmusikakademie NRW), Bettina Strübel (Leiterin Interreligiöser Chor Frankfurt), Mary Ellen Kitchens (AFM, Munich International Choral Society) und Mareike Hilbrig (Frauen-Kammerchor Marburg, Wohin?-Ensemble)

31. Oktober 2020, 15 Uhr:

Wie finde ich Chorwerke von Komponistinnen? Mary Ellen Kitchens präsentiert überraschend viele Quellen und Impulse – 34:00: Interview mit Fr. Dr. Angelika Horstmann (Furore Verlag) 

31. Oktober 2020, 16 Uhr:

Gesprächsrunde „Diversitätsbewusste Programmplanung für Chöre”. Moderation Marleen Hoffmann (Redaktion Chorzeit)

Das Archiv Frau und Musik bedankt sich bei der Förderung dieser Veranstaltung durch das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, vom Digitale Deutsche Frauenarchiv sowie seinem Medienpartner Chorzeit. Das Vokalmagazin.