Women Composers – Exile – Power | 30 October 2020

From 29 October to 1 November 2020, the Archiv Frau und Musik organised an online conference on choral music by women composers. The content from 30 October 2020 are available on this page.

In our 2020 digitisation project #Worauf WartenWir? (What are we waiting for?), we at the Archiv Frau und Musik focused on the estates of the four women composers Felicitas Kukuck (1914–2001), Leni Alexander (1924–2005), Silvia Alvarez de la Fuente (1953–2004), and Weronika Aleksandra Markiewicz (1962–2003). Here we present these four women composers, their choral works, along with our work on their estates.

We also received two researchers as guests: Dr. Kathrin Massar (freelance author, and currently a research assistant at the German Exile Archive 1933–1945) and Dr. Kathrin Massar (freelance author and currently a research assistant at the German Exile Archive 1933–1945 of the German National Library), who dealt with exile as a special form of change of place. In addition to the reasons for flight, and the living situations of artists during and after exile, they spoke about the the effects of the forced change of location on the estates.

Prof. Dr. Annegret Huber from the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (mdw), presented in her contribution a perspective that deals with the effects of “composing for choir” on the lives of women composers, and of “the choral” in general life-world situations. In doing so, she also referred to our four women estate composers.

Both lectures are still available on our YouTube channel, and are shared at the bottom of this page.

30 October 2020, 7 pm:
Lecture from Dr Kathrin Massar: Traces of Change of Place in the Estate: The Exile of the Pianist Lene Weiller-Bruch and the Pianist Hans Bruch.

 30 October 2020, 8 pm:
Lecture from Prof. Dr. Annegret Huber: Choir – Power – Empowerment.

The Archiv Frau und Musik would like to thank the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, as well as the Digital German Women’s Archive and its media partner Chorzeit – The Vocal Magazine for sponsoring this event.

Komponistinnen – Exil – Macht | 30. Oktober 2020

Vom 29. Oktober bis zum 1. November 2020 veranstaltete das Archiv Frau und Musik eine Online-Tagung zu Chormusik von Komponistinnen. Die Inhalte vom 30. Oktober 2020 sind auf dieser Seite abrufbar.

In unserem Digitalisierungsprojekt #Worauf warten wir? nehmen wir im Archiv Frau und Musik im Jahr 2020 die Nachlässe der vier Komponistinnen Felicitas Kukuck (1914–2001), Leni Alexander (1924–2005), Silvia Alvarez de la Fuente (1953–2004) und Weronika Aleksandra Markiewicz (1962–2003) in den Fokus. Hier stellen wir die vier Komponistinnen, ihre Chorwerke und unsere Arbeit an ihren Nachlässen vor.

Dr.in Kathrin Massar
Dr.in Kathrin Massar

Außerdem hatten wir zwei Wissenschaftlerinnen zu Gast: Dr.in Kathrin Massar (freie Autorin und derzeit wiss. Mitarbeiterin im Deutschen Exilarchiv 1933–1945 der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek) befasste sich mit dem Exil als spezieller Form des Ortswechsels. Neben Fluchtgründen und den Lebenssituationen der Künstler*innen während und nach dem Exil beschäftigte sie sich mit den Auswirkungen des erzwungenen Ortswechsels auf den Nachlass.

Prof.in Dr.in Annegret Huber von der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Künste Wien (mdw) stellte in ihrem Beitrag eine Perspektive vor, die sich mit den Auswirkungen des „Für-Chor-Komponierens“ auf das Leben der Komponistinnen und „das Chorische“ überhaupt in lebensweltlichen Situationen beschäftigt. Dabei nahm sie auch Bezug auf unsere vier Nachlass-Komponistinnen.

Prof.in Dr.in Annegret Huber
Prof.in Dr.in Annegret Huber

Beide Vorträge sind nach wie vor über unseren YouTube-Kanal sowie unten auf dieser Seite abrufbar.

 

30. Oktober 2020, 19 Uhr:

Vortrag Dr. Kathrin Massar: Spuren des Ortswechsels im Nachlass. Das Exil der Pianistin Lene Weiller-Bruch und des Pianisten Hans Bruch

 

30. Oktober 2020, 20 Uhr:

Vortrag Prof. Dr. Annegret Huber: Chor – Macht – Ermächtigung

Das Archiv Frau und Musik bedankt sich bei der Förderung dieser Veranstaltung durch das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, vom Digitale Deutsche Frauenarchiv sowie seinem Medienpartner Chorzeit. Das Vokalmagazin.