Choral Practise | 1 November 2020

From 29 October to 1 November 2020, the Archiv Frau und Music hosted an online conference on choral music by women composers. The contents of 1 November 2020 are available on this page.

The fourth choral day went into rehearsal! Mary Ellen Kitchens (Archiv Frau und Musik) interviewed U.S. composer Karen Siegel, who has created numerous choral works, as well as compositions intended for “remote choirs” making use of online livestreaming or video conferencing. In Here I Am and her new work Meditation, Karen Siegel works with the latency and delay so typical of online platforms: “Here I Am is my gift to the choral community, and is dedicated to all who are quarantined or isolated during this pandemic.” In addition to Karen Siegel, composer Alberto Arroyo shared his experiences with music and digital worlds. The interviews were conducted in English.

1 November 2020, 3 pm:
Interview with composer Karen Siegel and composer Alberto Arroyo lead by Mary Ellen Kitchens (in English), 30:17: Interview Alberto Arroyo.

The finale was a digital choir rehearsal with the Wohin? ensemble, a project choir from Marburg under the direction of Mareike Hilbrig, as well as the Munich International Choral Society with Mary Ellen Kitchens. This rehearsal showed that music by female composers can still be kept alive and performed together even in times of physical distancing. The main work of this rehearsal was Erna Woll’s (1917–2005) choral cycle Wohin ich immer reise (Wherever I Travel), in which she set poems about evacuation and loss of home by Mascha Kaléko (1907–1975) to music. By singing this work, the theme of the digital choral days #ChangeOfPlace was once again impressively demonstrated.

Das Marburger Erna-Woll-Ensemble ‘Wohin?’

1 November 2020, 4 pm:
Digital choir rehearsal with the Wohin? ensemble (Marburger ProjektChor, conductor: Mareike Hilbrig) and the Munich International Choral Society (conductor: Mary Ellen Kitchens).

A big thank you goes to Meggie George, Charlotte Bösling, and Frank Wagner for working on the videos of the choirs for the digital choir rehearsal!

Rehearsal recording Wohin? ensemble Marburg: Frank Wagner 2020. Theater recording: Charlotte Bösling, excerpt from Home is where the Heart is by Rolf Michenfelder 2019, Theater neben dem Turm, Marburg. Rehearsal recording, MiCS and editing: Meggie George 2020.

With a focus on choral practice, one of the aims of the Archiv Frau und Musik was to highlight the difficult situation faced by choirs during the Corona pandemic. Throughout 2020, Chorzeit: The Vocal Magazine collected videos of choirs which dealt with the difficult situation in particularly creative ways. You can find a playlist of the videos via the Archiv Frau und Musik’s YouTube channel, or click directly here:

The Archiv Frau und Musik gratefully acknowledges this event’s sponsorship by the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, by the Digital German Women’s Archive, and by its media partner Chorzeit: The Vocal Magazine.

Chorpraxis | 1. November 2020

Vom 29. Oktober bis zum 1. November 2020 veranstaltete das Archiv Frau und Musik eine Online-Tagung zu Chormusik von Komponistinnen. Die Inhalte vom 01. November 2020 sind auf dieser Seite abrufbar.

Der vierte Chortag ging in die Praxis! Mary Ellen Kitchens (Archiv Frau und Musik) interviewte die US-amerikanische Komponistin Karen Siegel, die neben zahlreichen Chorwerken auch Kompositionen für ‘Remote-Chor’ für online Livestreams oder Videokonferenzen schuf. In Here I Am und ihrem neuen Werk Meditation arbeitet Karen Siegel mit der für Onlineplattformen so typischen Latenz und Verzögerung: „Here I am is my gift to the choral community, and is dedicated to all who are quarantined or isolated during this pandemic.” Neben Karen Siegel berichtete der Komponist Alberto Arroyo von seinen Erfahrungen mit Musik und digitalen Welten. Die Interviews wurden auf Englisch geführt.

01. November 2020, 15 Uhr:

Interview von Mary Ellen Kitchens mit der Komponistin Karen Siegel und dem Komponisten Alberto Arroyo (auf Englisch), 30:17: Interview Alberto Arroyo

Als Finale gab es eine digitale Chorprobe mit dem Wohin?-Ensemble, einem Projektchor aus Marburg unter der Leitung von Mareike Hilbrig, und der Munich International Choral Society mit Mary Ellen Kitchens. Es wurde erlebbar, wie auch in Zeiten des physical distancing gemeinsam Musik von Komponistinnen gesungen werden kann. Hauptwerk dieser Probe war Erna Wolls (1917–2005) Chorzyklus Wohin ich immer reise sein, in dem sie Gedichte über Heimatverlust und Flucht von Mascha Kaléko (1907–1975) vertont hat. Mit dem Singen dieses Werks wurde das Thema der digitalen Chortage #Ortswechsel nochmal eindrücklich erfahrbar.

Das Marburger Erna-Woll-Ensemble ‘Wohin?’

01. November 2020, 16 Uhr:

Digitale Chorprobe mit dem Wohin?-Ensemble (Marburger ProjektChor, Leitung: Mareike Hilbrig) und der Munich International Choral Society (Leitung: Mary Ellen Kitchens)

Ein großes Dankeschön geht an Meggie George, Charlotte Bösling und Frank Wagner für die Arbeit an den Videos der Chöre für die digitale Chorprobe!

Probenaufnahmen “Wohin?”-Ensemble Marburg: Frank Wagner 2020.
Theatermitschnitt: Charlotte Bösling, Ausschnitt aus “Home is where the Heart is” von Rolf Michenfelder 2019, Theater neben dem Turm, Marburg.
Probenaufnahmen MiCS und Zusammenschnitt: Meggie George 2020.

Mit dem Fokus auf der Chorpraxis möchte das Archiv Frau und Musik u. a. auf die schwierige Situation für Chöre während der Corona-Pandemie hinweisen. Die Chorzeit. Das Vokalmagazin hat in diesem Jahr Videos von Chören gesammelt, die auf besonders kreative Weise mit der schwierigen Situation umgegangen sind. Über den YouTube-Kanal des Archivs Frau und Musik finden Sie eine Playlist der Videos oder klicken Sie direkt hier:

Das Archiv Frau und Musik bedankt sich bei der Förderung dieser Veranstaltung durch das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, vom Digitale Deutsche Frauenarchiv sowie seinem Medienpartner Chorzeit. Das Vokalmagazin.