Managing Board

Mary Ellen Kitchens

Mary Ellen Kitchens M. A.
Mary Ellen Kitchens was born in 1959 in Houston/Texas. Very early on, she began taking piano and cello lessons. After completing high school in New York she studied at Yale University (USA) and spent an exchange year in Paris (École Normale de la Musique/Sorbonne). In 1980 she moved to Munich, where she attained her MA majoring in music science at the Ludwig Maximilian University. She took courses in conducting with Rodney Wynkoop (Yale University, Connecticut), Pierre Dervaux (Paris), Sergiù Celibidache (Munich) and Julius Kalmar (Vienna). From 1984 to 1991 Mary Ellen Kitchens directed the Haydn Orchestra in Munich, which was founded by her. Since 1991 she has led the Orchestra Society Kempten/Allgäu. She has been musical director of the Munich International Choral Society since 1986, and since its foundation in 2004 she has also led the Regenbogenchor in Munich. In 1991 she began working at the audio archive of the Bayerischer Rundfunk radio station, which she headed full-time from January 2004 to the beginning of 2015. Since April 2015 she has been responsible for leading the Inventory Management and Digitalization department at Bayerischer Rundfunk. From 1994 to 1998 she was the chair of musica femina e.V., and she remains a member of mfm today. She has chaired the International Working Group of Women and Music since 2013, and as a result is intensively involved with the activities of the Archive of Women in Music in Frankfurt/Main in a voluntary capacity. In 2012, 2015, 2016 and 2017 she headed the Frauen Orchester Projekt (women’s orchestra project) in Berlin, and she is currently working with the planning team to prepare the next session (February 2019).

Heike Matthiesen

Heike Matthiesen
Heike Matthiesen is one of Germany’s most renowned guitarists and one of the few female guitarists on the worldwide concert scene. Born into an opera family in Braunschweig, she grew up in Berlin and in Neu-Isenburg near Offenbach. She received her first piano lesson in early childhood but switched to the guitar at 18, beginning her studies at the Frankfurt College of Music just one year later. After graduating, she became a master-class pupil of Pepe Romera and participated in numerous master classes at world-class level. During her studies she helped out at the Frankfurt Opera orchestra and made guest appearances at the opera houses in Wiesbaden, Darmstadt and Stuttgart. Since 1997 she has also been closely connected with the Villa Musica Mainz, consequently performing in many concerts in Rhineland Palatinate, both in various chamber-music ensembles and as a soloist. Today she is a freelance soloist and chamber musician, has released four solo CDs and gives concerts worldwide, for example in China, Japan, the USA, Nigeria, Pakistan, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Tajikistan, and Europe. Over the last several years she has become more intensely focused on the works of female composers. Her fourth album, Guitar Ladies, consists solely of works by women and has been highly praised in the specialized press. She has been a member of the Archive of Women in Music for many years, is now the repertoire specialist for guitar and has been an active board member since October. “For me, playing music by female composers is a matter of the heart. I am overcome again and again when I see how much wonderful music there is to discover!”

Dr. Vera Lasch

Dr. Vera Lasch
Sociologist at the Institute of Economics at the University of Kassel and elsewhere. Managing director of KulturNetz Kassel e. V.

 

 

 

Extended board

Dr. Vivienne Olive © Volker Blumenthaler

Dr. Vivienne Olive
Vivienne Olive was born in London in 1950. She received piano and music theory lessons from an early age and studied cembalo and organ at Trinity College of Music in London. In 1968 she continued her music studies at the University of York/England (B.A.). She subsequently specialized in composition, first with Bernard Rands (Y ork), then with Franco Donatoni (Milan), Roman Haubenstock-Ramati (Vienna) and Klaus Huber (Freiburg). In 1975 she earned her doctorate in composition (University of York). In Freiburg, she continued her cembalo studies with Stanislav Heller. She won various prizes and awards. Since 1979 she has lived in Germany, where she works as a professor of music theory at the Nuremberg College of Music. From 1993 to 1995 she lived in Australia, where she not only worked as a lecturer at the James Cook University/North Queensland, but also initiated and directed the music festival Contemposfest Townsvill 94. In 2004 she was the Composer in Residence in Bundanon/New South Wales in Australia. Since 2014 she has directed the Brixworth Music Festival in the United Kingdom.

Vorstand IAK Frau und Musik

Mary Ellen Kitchens

Mary Ellen Kitchens M. A.
Mary Ellen Kitchens wurde 1959 in Houston/Texas geboren. Sie begann in frühen Jahren bereits mit dem Klavier- und Cellounterricht. Nach dem Schulabschluss in New York studierte sie an der Yale University (USA) und absolvierte ein Austauschjahr in Paris (École Normale de la Musique/Sorbonne). 1980 wechselte sie nach München und legte an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität ihren M. A. im Hauptfach Musikwissenschaft ab. Dirigierkurse besuchte sie bei Rodney Wynkoop (Yale University, Connecticut), Pierre Dervaux (Paris), Sergiù Celibidache (München) und Julius Kalmar (Wien). Von 1984 bis 1991 leitete Mary Ellen Kitchens das von ihr gegründete Haydn-Orchester in München, seit 1991 steht sie dem Orchesterverein Kempten/Allgäu vor. Sie hat seit 1986 die musikalische Leitung der Munich International Choral Society und seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2004 ist sie auch die Leiterin des Regenbogenchors München. 1991 begann sie ihre Tätigkeit im Audioarchiv des Bayerischen Rundfunks, das sie von Januar 2004 bis Anfang 2015 hauptberuflich leitete. Seit April 2015 ist sie mit der Leitung der Abteilung Bestandsmanagement und Digitalisierung beim Bayerischen Rundfunk betraut. Von 1994 bis 1998 war sie Vorstandsfrau bei musica femina münchen e. V. – heute ist sie weiter Mitglied von mfm. Seit 2013 ist sie Vorstandsfrau des Internationalen Arbeitskreis Frau und Musik e. V. Somit ist sie ehrenamtlich intensiv mit den Aktivitäten des Archivs Frau und Musik in Frankfurt/Main beschäftigt. 2012, 2015, 2016 und 2017 hat sie das Frauenorchesterprojekt in Berlin geleitet und bereitet mit dem Planungsteam gerade die nächste Session (Februar 2018) vor.

Dr. Vera Lasch

Dr. Vera Lasch
Soziologin u. a. am Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre der Universität Kassel. Geschäftsführerin von KulturNetz Kassel e. V.

 

 

 

Heike Matthiesen

Heike Matthiesen
Heike Matthiesen gehört zu den renommiertesten Gitarristen Deutschlands und zu den immer noch viel zu wenigen Gitarristinnen, die weltweit im Konzertleben präsent sind. Sie wurde in Braunschweig in eine Opernfamilie geboren, wuchs dann in Berlin und in Neu-Isenburg bei Offenbach auf. Bereits in frühester Kindheit erhielt sie ersten Klavierunterricht, wechselte dann aber mit 18 zur Gitarre, um bereits ein Jahr später ihr Studium an der Musikhochschule Frankfurt zu beginnen. Nach dem Diplom wurde sie Meisterschülerin von Pepe Romero und nahm an zahlreichen Meisterkursen der Weltspitze teil. Schon im Studium arbeitete sie als Orchesteraushilfe für Zupfinstrumente an der Frankfurter Oper und gastierte in den Opernhäusern in Wiesbaden, Darmstadt und Stuttgart. Seit 1997 ist sie zudem eng mit der Villa Musica Mainz verbunden, in zahlreiche Konzerten in verschiedenen Kammermusikbesetzungen sowie als Solistin ist sie dadurch in Rheinland-Pfalz zu hören. Heute ist sie freischaffende Solistin und Kammermusikerin, hat inzwischen vier Solo-CDs veröffentlicht und konzertiert weltweit, so z. B. in China, Japan, den USA, Nigeria, Pakistan, Äthiopien, Äquatorial-Guinea, Tadschikistan sowie Europa. Seit einigen Jahren beschäftigt sie sich immer intensiver mit den Werken von Komponistinnen, ihr vierter Tonträger Guitar Ladies enthält ausschließlich Werke von Frauen und wurde in der Fachpresse hochgelobt. Sie ist seit vielen Jahren Mitglied im Archiv Frau und Musik, inzwischen die Repertoirespezialistin für Gitarre und seit Oktober im Vorstand aktiv. “Es ist mir eine Herzenssache, Musik von Komponistinnen zu spielen. Ich bin immer wieder überwältigt, wie viel wunderbare Musik es zu entdecken gibt!”

Erweiterter Vorstand

Dr. Vivienne Olive © Volker Blumenthaler

Dr. Vivienne Olive
Vivienne Olive wurde 1950 in London geboren. In frühem Alter bekam sie Klavier- und Musiktheorieunterricht und studierte Cembalo und Orgel am Trinity College of Music in London. 1968 setzte sie ihre Musikstudien an der Universität York/England fort (B.A.). Danach spezialisierte sie sich auf Komposition, zuerst bei Bernard Rands (York), dann bei Franco Donatoni (Mailand), Roman Haubenstock-Ramati (Wien) und Klaus Huber (Freiburg). 1975 promovierte sie im Fach Komposition (Universität York). In Freiburg setzte sie ihre Cembalostudien bei Stainslav Heller fort. Sie bekam verschiedene Preise und Auszeichnungen. Seit 1979 wohnt sie in Deutschland, wo sie als Professorin für Musiktheorie an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg tätig ist. Von 1993 bis 1995 verbrachte sie zwei Jahre in Australien, wo sie nicht nur als Dozentin an der James Cook University/North Queensland tätig war, sondern auch das Musikfestival Contempofest Townsville 94 initiierte und leitete. 2004 war sie Composer in Residence in Bundanon/New South Wales in Australien. Seit 2014 leitet sie das Brixworth Music Festival in England.

Elisabeth Treydte

Elisabeth Treydte M. A.
Elisabeth Treydte ist seit 2014 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Musikwissenschaft der hfmt Hamburg. Zuvor studierte sie Musikwissenschaft, Germanistik und Romanistik in Frankfurt am Main und Wien und war für das Archiv Frau und Musik tätig. Sie forscht gegenwärtig für ihr laufendes Promotionsvorhaben zur geschlechterspezifischen Praxoelogie der Musik der Gegenwart und veröffentlicht Beiträge zu den Bereichen Pop-Musik, Neue Musik sowie Musikgeschichtsschreibung aus genderforschender Perspektive. Seit 2017 ist sie im erweiterten Vorstand des Internationalen Arbeitskreis Frau und Musik e. V.