Digital German Women’s Archive (DDF)

kick-off meeting of the DDF project in the Archiv Frau und Musik

ARCHIVEOF WOMEN IN MUSIC GOES DIGITAL

PARFUMO: Projekt Archiv Frau und Musik Online [Archive of Women and Music Online Project]–this is the working title as we go into our project years 2018. Our goal is to digitalize and make available materials from the archive (written material, posters, images, audio and video material), as part of the network project Digital German Women’s Archive-DDF. The goal of the Digital German Women’s Archive (DDF) is to collect and present digital copies, existing data and further information on the history of the women’s movement in the form of a specialized portal. The platform went online in September 2018. An additional goal of the DDF is to present the women’s movement from 1800 with its various strands and viewpoints. Historical and current sociopolitical issues will be depicted and presented on the internet in contemporary style. In this way the DDF will offer an additional basis for research, education and informative work, making an important contribution to the politics of equality and gender. In the first phase of the project, the Archive team is selectingexhibits, letters, photographs, notes, posters, and documents from our collection. These are then digitalized and contextualized for the project in order to make them accessible to a wider public via the DDF portal.

Since the foundation of the International Working Group of Women and Music in 1979, the Archive has worked to bring together stakeholders from the area of women in music. The works and the work of women in music–including composers, conductors, performers, publishers and patrons–and creating networks between them are a particular focus area of the DDF project.

As of autumn 2018 the selected artefacts will be available online worldwide in the META Catalog of the i.d.a. umbrella organization (a consortium of German women’s and lesbian archives), as well as being distributed via the German Digital Library and Eurpeana.eu.

Digitales Deutsches Frauenarchiv (DDF)

Arbeitstreffen DDF im Archiv Frau und Musik © Archiv Frau und Musik

ARCHIV FRAU UND MUSIK STARTET DIGITAL DURCH

PARFUMO: Projekt Archiv Frau und Musik Online“ – unter diesem Arbeitstitel starten wir unser Projektjahr 2018. Ziel ist die Digitalisierung und Zugänglichmachung von Archivalien (Noten, Schriftgut, Plakaten, Bildern, Audio- und Videomaterial) aus dem Archiv im Rahmen des Netzwerkprojektes Digitales Deutsches Frauenarchiv – DDF.  Ziel des Digitalen Deutschen Frauenarchivs (DDF) ist es, erstmals Digitalisate, Bestandsdaten und weiterführende Informationen zur Geschichte der Frauenbewegung in Form eines Fachportals zu sammeln und zu präsentieren. Der Online-Gang dieser Plattform ist für Mitte September 2018 geplant. Ein weiteres Ziel des DDF ist es, die Frauenbewegung in ihren unterschiedlichen Strömungen und Standpunkten ab 1800 darzustellen. Dabei werden historische und aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Fragestellungen aufbereitet und zeitgemäß im Internet dargestellt. Das DDF bietet so eine weitere Grundlage für Forschungs-, Bildungs- und Informationsarbeit und leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Gleichstellungs- und Genderpolitik.

In der ersten Projektphase wählt das Team im Archiv Exponate, Briefe, Fotografien, Noten, Plakate und Dokumente aus unserer Sammlung aus, die wir für das Projekt digitalisieren und kontextualisieren, um sie über das DDF-Portal einer größeren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Seit der Gründung des Internationalen Arbeitskreises Frau und Musik 1979 beschäftigt sich das Archiv mit der Vernetzung von Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus dem Bereich Frau und Musik. Die Werke und das Wirken von Frauen in der Musik – darunter Komponistinnen, Dirigentinnen, Interpretinnen, Verlegerinnen und Mäzeninnen – sowie ihre Vernetzung untereinander ist eines der Themen, mit denen wir uns beim DDF-Projekt besonders beschäftigen.

Ab Herbst 2018 werden die ausgewählten Zeugnisse dann über den META-Katalog des i.d.a.-Dachverbands (Konsortium der deutschen Frauen- und Lesbenarchive) weltweit online zugänglich sein und außerdem über das Deutsche Digitale Frauenarchiv (DDF) und Europeana.eu weiter verbreitet werden.